Gibraltar Updates Red List Of Countries For Travel To Gibraltar

In line with the UK Government, Gibraltar will add several countries to the red list of countries for  travel to Gibraltar, with effect from 1:00pm on Friday 26th November 2021.  

In order to safeguard the public health of Gibraltar, the following countries will be added to the red  list: 

  • Botswana 
  • Eswatini 
  • Lesotho 
  • Namibia 
  • South Africa 
  • Zimbabwe 

A statement from the Government follows below:

Passengers should continue to check the travel guidance including before, during and after travel  to keep up to date in entry requirements and ensure compliance with the latest COVID-19 rules.  The Technical Notice COVID-19 - TESTING AND SELF-ISOLATION REQUIREMENTS FOR  ENTRY INTO GIBRALTAR provides a detailed explanation of the requirements. 

No person who has been in a red list country in the 10-day period preceding their date of arrival  into Gibraltar may enter Gibraltar unless they meet one of the exemption categories specified in  the Technical Notice.  

Minister for Civil Contingencies, the Hon Samantha Sacramento, said: ‘Gibraltar has today updated  its red list, following reports of a new COVID-19 variant of concern in those countries. HM  Government of Gibraltar is continuously monitoring the global situation and evidence regarding  COVID-19 and will move quickly, on Public Health advice, to implement any necessary safeguards  that are deemed appropriate and proportionate. 

‘Members of the public in Gibraltar can be reassured that the vaccine continues to be effective in  preventing severe illness and hospitalisation, and there are very few cases in the age groups that  have received boosters, which demonstrates that the booster is working. I strongly encourage  everyone who is offered a booster to take it as soon as possible.’